Early Colleges

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Leadership Team

Jennifer Daugherty - Mrs. Daugherty is the Head of School of Colorado Springs Early Colleges.  Mrs. Daugherty served as the Academic Dean for two years prior to becoming Head of School. She has a passion for education reform and teacher coaching as well as a commitment to student success. She has worked with charter schools for the past 14 years where she has gained valuable experience in leadership, curriculum development, and effective teaching methods. She has also worked as a Curriculum and Assessment Consultant for Harrison District 2 and as a PRAXIS grader for Social Studies teacher candidates. She has been committed to fostering an inclusive learning and social environment within the high school to ensure that students feel valued and to encourage genuine relationships between peers.  She earned her BA in Social Sciences and her M.Ed in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of West Florida while her husband was serving in the Navy. With the support of her incredible husband and three amazing daughters she feels blessed to be a part of the CSEC family.  Main office:  719-955-4675  Internal extension 439



Laura Carter -  Mrs. Carter is a member of the CSEC leadership team and is also the Dean of Advising. CSEC has been her work home for over five years. The broad range of roles in which Mrs. Carter has served, from academic assistant to Assistant to the Head of School and finally academic advising, have all enriched her perspective of how integral each area of a school support system is to student success. Mrs. Carter believes valued teachers, staff and students build the basis of a thriving learning environment. It is from this foundation she embraces a collaborative team approach to serving the unique needs of the students and families attending CSEC. Mrs. Carter prioritizes strong student-centered relationships, consistent advisor accessibility and detailed communication to maximize the opportunity for all students to explore, set and reach their desired goals.    Main office:  719-955-4675  Internal extension 464

Kimberly Musselman - Mrs. Musselman is the Academic Dean at CSEC.   (Bio coming soon!)  Main office:  719-955-4675  Internal extension 437



Keith King–Administrator of Colorado Early Colleges - Mr. King is the Administrator of Colorado Early Colleges which oversees all four Colorado Early Colleges schools:  Colorado Springs, Fort Collins and Parker and Aurora.  He has served on the Colorado Springs City Council, the School Board of Cheyenne Mountain School District, Cheyenne Mountain Charter Academy, four terms in the Colorado House of Representatives, four years of service in the Colorado Senate, and was appointed to the National Assessment Governing Board by Secretary Paige.  He also has served on the Colorado League of Charter Schools Board for over thirteen years.  He has written the application for four successful charter schools in the Colorado Springs area; Cheyenne Mountain Charter Academy, James Irwin Charter High School, Colorado Springs Early Colleges, Colorado Early Colleges Fort Collins, Colorado Early Colleges Parker and Colorado Early Colleges Aurora.  He received his Bachelor’s Degree from Colorado State University – Pueblo and his Master’s Degree from Oregon State University.  During his service in the Colorado Legislature he carried over 70 bills that have impacted K-12 and higher education.  He received over 18 awards from various education and business organizations for his work in the General Assembly.  Office:  719-528-6062